The speed and volume of change in the crypto asset markets has accelerated across the globe, with established financial institutions increasingly entering the sector whilst regulators look to keep pace. Recent high-profile developments and market volatility have led to growing calls for scrutiny and regulatory controls. Navigating this fast paced environment, within a sometimes disjointed regulatory framework, can be challenging.

This virtual seminar series will provide insights on how the regulatory landscape is changing and discuss the future of crypto within the financial services sector. Set out below are details of our 2022 series.

Please click here to view recordings of the 2021 series.

 

The crypto ecosystem


This training session explains the main crypto legal structures and the participants in the crypto ecosystem, including exchanges, wallets and custodians.
Speakers: Mark SimpsonJulian HuiSteffi IllegemsSubatra ThiruchittampalamSarah Williams


Integrating crypto into established financial services
Part 1: funds and listings

Thursday 29 September, 10.00 am BST / 5.00 pm HKT

This panel will discuss fund structuring and the challenges for conventional funds investing in crypto assets, including a discussion on crypto as part of wealth management and the rise of tokenised bonds.
Speakers: Bill FuggleJoy LamStephanie MagnusCatherine MartouginAnsgar Schott


Integrating crypto into established financial services
Part 2: practical considerations

Tuesday 11 October, 9.00 am BST / 4.00 pm HKT

This panel will cover practical issues such as settlement in crypto, compliance with safeguarding/custody and outsourcing requirements, the territoriality of offerings, and regulatory warnings to consumers.
Speakers: Karen Man; Melody Hoay; Julian HuiShemira Jeevaratnam; Subatra Thiruchittampalam


Crypto risk: significant legal and regulatory risks

Thursday 3 November, 4.00 pm GMT / 12.00 pm EDT

This panel will review different key areas of risk in the sector, including financial crime, litigation and regulatory enforcement, sanctions issues, tax compliance and cyber security.
Speakers: Philip AnnettJennifer ConnorsAlex LamyTaylor ReidAiden O'LearySarah Williams


A deep dive into NFTs

Tuesday 15 November, 9.00 am GMT / 5.00 pm HKT

This panel will look at the rise of non-fungible tokens (NFTs) in gaming, digital arts and more and the interrelationship with financial services regulation.
Speakers: Manuel LorenzSue McLeanAshlin PerumallKullarat Phongsathaporn; Olivier Van den broeke


DeFi

Thursday 1 December, 4.00 pm GMT / 11.00 am EST

What is 'DeFi' (decentralised finance)? This panel will review the interrelationship with financial services regulation and understanding DeFi staking.
Speakers: Iris BarsanPaula De BiaseGabriel Gomez-GiglioAlfonso Martinez-BejaranoTaylor Reid; Aiden O'Leary


Growth in crypto: capital raising, M&A and scale up

Tuesday 6 December, 4.00 pm GMT / 11.00 am EST

Our last panel will look at issues in crypto business growth, including scale ups, crypto-driven M&A, financing, risk and restructuring.
Speakers: Debra Dandeneau; Haden Henderson; Lawrence LeeMark Simpson

 

Please note: the high-level guidance provided in these sessions is not intended to be comprehensive legal advice.