Leading global law firm Baker McKenzie has launched its second annual National Black Law Student Association (NBLSA) Tax Mentor Program, which runs from January 19 to July 6, 2022. Facilitated by the Firm's North America Tax Practice Group, Inclusion & Diversity and Recruitment teams, the program is designed to educate interested NBLSA members about a career in tax law and to simultaneously dispel the idea that one must have a background or particular interest in tax, math or accounting to have a successful career in tax law.

This year, the Firm is pleased to welcome 20 mentees to the program from law schools across the country. Each mentee is assigned to a Baker McKenzie mentor (or co-mentors) to meet monthly for one-on-one and group sessions consisting of networking, professional development, client panels and more.

The 2022 Baker McKenzie NBLSA Tax Mentees are:

  • Adenike Tijani, Georgia State University College of Law (JD '23)
  • Adriane Clark, Georgia State University College of Law (JD '22)            
  • Alisa Best, Liberty University School of Law (JD '21)
  • Andrea de la Torre, University of the District of Columbia, David A. Clarke School of Law (JD '23)
  • Angelique Ball, Howard University School of Law (JD '24)
  • Basirat Mutairu, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law (LLM '22)
  • Chris Scott, Howard University School of Law (JD '24)
  • Crystal Bush, Howard University School of Law (JD '24)
  • David Mwirichia, Northern Illinois University College of Law (JD '23)      
  • Favour Okhuevbie, Howard University School of Law (JD '24)   
  • Jason-Ray Swaby, University of Wisconsin Law School (JD '23)
  • Jennifer Dickey, Chicgo-Kent College of Law (JD '24)
  • Kerstein Camilien, Syracuse University College of Law (JD '23)
  • Khaleel Martin, Florida International University (JD '23)       
  • Lauryn Morris, Emory University School of Law (JD '24)
  • Leeandre Mahomes, Chicago-Kent College of Law (JD '24)
  • Loundy Desire, Hofstra University Maurice A. Deane School of Law (JD '23)      
  • Michael Anthony Ruff, University of Florida Levin College of Law (JD/LLM '22)  
  • Stephanie Sabino, University of Massachusetts School of Law (JD '23)
  • Traci Atwell, St. Thomas University College of Law (JD '22)
Explore Our Newsroom