Quisumbing Torres is pleased to announce that Dennis Quintero has been elected as the new Chairman of the Philippines-Australia Business Council (PABC). Quintero is a partner in the firm under the Corporate and Commercial Practice Group. The Philippines-Australia Business Council is a well-established business organization in the Philippines that aims to promote trade and tourism between the two countries. It is the official private sector representative to the bilateral trade relations between the Philippines and Australia.
Dennis has been an active member of the council for years and held the position of 2nd Vice Chairman until March 2017. He was elected as Chairman of the council last 27 March 2017 during PABC's membership meeting.

Quintero recently presided the PABC’s General Membership Meeting on 8 May at the Manila Elks Club in Makati City. Among the speakers at the meeting was Dr. Carlos Primo C. David, Executive Director of Philippine Council for Industry, Energy and Emerging Technology Research and Development (PCIEERD) of the Department of Science and Technology. Dr. David spoke on the various programs of the DOST PCIEERD to harness science and technology to develop key industry sectors in the Philippines including agriculture, business process outsourcing, healthcare, responsible mining, and development of the downstream iron and steel industries.

One of PABC's major objectives is to foster trade relations between the Philippines and Australia. Aside from its membership meetings, the council regularly holds events that further strengthen the friendly ties between the Philippines and Australia. These events include the annual Philippines Australia Ministerial Meeting (PAMM), the Philippines Australia Friendship Golf Tournament, trade dialogues, and fellowships.

The council was established in 1975 with members from the private sector. Its Australia-based counterpart, the Australia Philippines Business Council was founded in the same year. This bilateral trade agreement between the two countries eventually led to the formation of the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area in 2009, which aims to promote free trade and investments in the region.

PABC's former chairpersons include Albert M. Garcia, Atty. Leo G. Dominguez, Rene R. Fuentes, Raul C. Hernandez, Oscar C. De Venecia, Ricardo P. Guevara, Rose Teodoro, Violy J. Searby, Victor A. Lim, Jose S. Concepcion, Jr., Jovino S. Lorenzo, and co-founders David Sycip and Raul A. Boncan.

Today, the council has 14 officers and trustees with 32 members and 11 honorary members.

Explore Our Newsroom
See All News