As previously reported, effective Tuesday, March 17, 2020, San Francisco, Alameda, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Marin, and Contra Costa counties imposed Shelter-In-Place Orders ("SF Bay Area Orders"). The SF Bay Area Orders require all individuals to shelter in place in their residences and businesses to cease all activities at facilities located within the listed counties with certain exceptions for: (1) "Essential Businesses" (as defined by the Orders); and (2) "Minimum Basic Operations" for businesses that do not qualify as "Essential Businesses." The Shelter-In-Place Orders currently remain in effect through April 7. Although each of the six Bay Area counties, plus Santa Cruz, issued a separate Order, the substantive terms of the SF Bay Area Orders are the same.

Again, the intent of the Orders is to ensure the maximum number of people self-isolate in their places of residence to the maximum extent feasible, while enabling essential services to continue, and to slow the spread of Coronavirus (also known as COVID-19) to the maximum extent possible. To that end, we have seen local sheriff's departments implementing the Orders against companies that do not fall squarely under an express exemption.

As of Wednesday, March 18, 2020, more California counties have issued Orders, bringing the total count to 11 out of 58 California counties. The below includes an update on the SF Bay Area Orders and the latest counties to issue Orders.

Explore More Insight