Effective 16 March 2020, Moscow has introduced new restrictions to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Among these is a citywide ban, in force through 10 April 2020, on indoor public events with more than 50 participants.

Also, the list of countries considered to be high-risk for coronavirus has been expanded. Currently this list includes:

  • China
  • South Korea
  • Iran
  • All EU member states (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Hungary, Greece, Germany, Denmark, Italy, Ireland, Spain, Republic of Cyprus, Luxembourg, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia , France, Finland, Croatia, Czech Republic, Sweden, Estonia)
  • the USA
  • the UK
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
  • Belarus
  • Moldova
  • Ukraine
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Macedonia
  • Serbia
  • Albania
  • Montenegro
  • Monaco
  • Liechtenstein
  • Vatican
  • San Marino
  • Iceland

All employees arriving from these countries or living together with people who have arrived from these countries must self-isolate for 14 days. Employers operating in Moscow must deny such employees access to their workplaces and/or the company premises.

From 18 March to 1 May 2020, foreign nationals and stateless persons, including those arriving from the territory of Belarus as well as citizens of Belarus, will be temporarily restricted entry to the Russian Federation. This restriction will not apply to certain categories of persons, including: holders of diplomatic visas, official visas, or ordinary private visas issued in connection with the death of a close relative; ship and railroad crews; individuals permanently residing in the RF (Russian nationals with internal IDs; and foreigners holding permanent residency permits).

Explore More Insight