Baker McKenzie's VAT/Indirect Tax Practice Group invites you to the International VAT Conference 2021, an online but live conference designed for VAT specialists from all industry sectors that aims to discuss the latest developing trends and hot topics in the VAT/GST and Customs arena.

This unique event will consist of 9 sessions taking place over 3 days. The programme will start on Tuesday, 20 April and finish on Thursday, 22 April. The full session overview is listed below, please register for any session you are interested to attend. If you have a question relating to a specific topic, please include it when completing your registration.

Our VAT professionals will be also available for one-to-one meetings to discuss specific issues you may have. Please let us know in advance if you wish to set up one as the number of meetings will be limited.

 

Session Overview

DAY 1
EU Action Plan

Tuesday, 20 April - 09:00 am GMT | 10:00 am CET
For a different time zone, please click here

The European Commission recently published an Action Plan for fair and simple taxation for 2020 to 2024. In this session we will comment on the initiatives that have a VAT impact, such as VAT Package in the digital age, updating and simplifying VAT rules for financial services, VAT dispute resolution mechanisms, and transforming the VAT Committee.

 

DAY 1
EU Court Update

Tuesday, 20 April - 03:00 pm GMT | 4:00 pm CET
For a different time zone, please click here

In the last year the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) has decided a number of significant VAT cases. This session will review recent key cases of the CJEU and their impact on how indirect tax is applied across the EU. 

 


DAY 2
VAT & Customs

Wednesday, 21 April - 09:00 am GMT | 10:00 am CET
For a different time zone, please click here

If you ever wondered how to import your goods into the EU from abroad, in particular after Brexit, without disruption to your supply chain and without cash flow disadvantages, this workshop will offer a unique opportunity to familiarize yourself with different alternatives offered by the customs and VAT landscape. The correct structuring of customs and VAT representations not only facilitates supply chains, but also it has a big impact on the ability to recover import VAT. In addition, customs instruments can be used to manage the cash flow related to import VAT.

 

DAY 2
Technological Advances and VAT

Wednesday, 21 April - 2:00 pm GMT | 3:00 pm CET
For a different time zone, please click here

VAT legislation and new technologies have always struggled to align. However, the near future will become even more challenging. In this session we will discuss the potential impact on VAT legislation with technological advances like the decentralization of organizations and finance, blockchain and crypto, machine learning (AI) and the Internet of Things.

DAY 2
TMT

Wednesday, 21 April - 3:30 pm GMT | 4.30 pm CET
For a different time zone, please click here

The European technology, media, and telecom sector has been facing abundant legislative and case law developments with major VAT ramifications for its market players. This session will focus on recent VAT changes with respect to digital services, Mini One Stop Shop, deemed reseller rules for marketplaces, best practices to handle multijurisdictional VAT audits and VAT audit readiness.


DAY 3
VAT Around the World - APAC

Thursday, 22 April - 9:00 am GMT | 10:00 am CET | 7:00 pm AEDT
For a different time zone, please click here

Our annual review of key VAT developments outside Europe is covered in this session. We will provide a bird's eye view of what is going on in Asia-Pacific and we will discuss which indirect tax developments have occurred or will occur.

DAY 3
VAT Around the World - EMEA

Thursday, 22 April - 10:30 am GMT | 11:30 am CET
For a different time zone, please click here

Our annual review of key VAT developments outside of the EU is covered in this session. We will provide a bird's eye view of what is going on in Switzerland, Turkey, Russia and the CIS, the Gulf and South Africa.

DAY 3
Financial Services

Thursday, 22 April - 1:00 pm GMT | 2:00 pm CET
For a different time zone, please click here

A series of CJEU and domestic judgments has highlighted the ongoing issues arising from the application of financial services exemptions and VAT deduction rules for global financial services businesses. This breakout session will consider these issues, including market and policy developments.

DAY 3
VAT Around the World - Americas

Thursday, 22 April - 3:00 pm GMT | 4:00 pm CET | 7:00 am PST
For a different time zone, please click here

Our annual review of key VAT developments outside Europe is covered in this session. We will provide a bird's eye view of what is going on in the Americas and we will discuss which indirect tax developments have occurred or will occur.