Baker McKenzie's VAT/Indirect Tax Practice Group invites you to the International VAT Conference Webinar Series, a global webinar series designed for VAT specialists from all industry sectors that aims to discuss the latest developing trends and hot topics in the VAT/GST and Customs arena.

The webinar series will start on Wednesday, June 17 with the VAT Action Plan session and continue to run regularly throughout the year. All the upcoming webinars below will begin at 2:00 pm BST / 3:00 pm CEST (unless otherwise stated) and are scheduled to run for approximately 60 minutes.

We will continue to update the list of our upcoming webinars to include additional global topics. Please look forward to follow up communications about new sessions that you may share to your teams and colleagues across your regions.

If you have a question relating to a specific webinar topic, please include it when completing your registration. If you have any issues registering, please contact Jana Hanysova.

Date & Time

Session

17 June 2020


VAT action plan
The VAT action plan implementation has just started with the "quick fixes" and will bring more changes in the near future. In this session, we will review how the quick fixes are impacting businesses and will update on coming changes provided in the VAT Action Plan of the European Union.

 

15 July 2020

9:30 am (CDT / PET / COT)
10:30 am (CLT / VET)
11:30 am (BRT / ART)
3:30 pm (BST)
4:30 pm (CEST)

Looking at ways to monetize VAT credits and balances in Latin America
Companies need efficient solutions to improve their cash flow especially in these difficult times. Our presenters will address the alternatives available in each Latin American jurisdiction for monetization and appropriation of indirect tax credits.

12 August 2020

9:30 am (CDT / PET / COT)
10:30 am (CLT / VET)
11:30 am (BRT / ART)
3:30 pm (BST)
4:30 pm (CEST)

DST in Latin America
Understand the main aspects and proposals of the digital services tax (DST) in select jurisdictions in Latin America.

9 September 2020

Audit and disputes
We continue to see increased audit activity when it comes to VAT in Europe. Different tax authorities take different approaches, but they are becoming more aligned than ever with increased information sharing and multi-country audits on the rise. How do you best manage the audit process across a number of countries and how do you best resolve any disputes that arise?
7 October 2020

Financial services
Over the past year, various judgments have highlighted the ongoing issues arising from the application of financial services exemptions and VAT deduction rules for financial services businesses. This breakout session will consider these developments, including the scope of VAT exemptions, the VAT recovery rules applicable on intra-entity supplies and the place of supply regarding offshore structures.
21 October 2020

Customs
The ongoing trade wars between the world's largest economies contribute to the disruption of the operations of multinationals across a wide range of industries. This is the same for Brexit. This presents an opportunity for businesses to assess, modernize and future-proof their supply chains. In the meantime, 2019 has also seen a big change in the Import VAT collection area. This breakout will be a unique opportunity to discuss how customs and import VAT are impacted, connected and linked to multinational strategies.
28 October 2020

E-commerce
E-commerce is a forever-evolving playground for all sized marketplaces. Fast-paced and full of opportunities, e-commerce is significantly impacted by evolving VAT legislation. During this breakout, we will discuss updates throughout the past 12 months, have an overview of local laws involving e-commerce and marketplaces and study the impact of wider regulations such as landmark cases as well as the broader development in ESS laws globally.

Part One: 
18 November

Part Two:
2 December

VAT around the world
Our annual review of key VAT developments outside Europe is covered in this session. We will provide a bird's eye view of what is going on in the Americas and Asia-Pacific and discuss which indirect tax developments have occurred or will occur.